top of page
  • Writer's pictureYour Everyday Girl

One for the Animal Lovers

This is an amazingly beautiful day out for all ages, it’s so heart-warming and so cheap.

Westover Road Bournemouth, Approx. 40 minutes in the car from Southampton has a lovely park situated just opposite the pier.


When you enter the park there are several different paths you can choose from, you can still see the whole of the park so don’t worry about which path to take.


But before you get there don’t forget to stop at your local supermarket and grab a bag of monkey nuts for approx. £1.50


This park has many lovely picturesque features and holds a very peaceful and tranquil feel about it. There are picnic and park benches dotted around so don’t forget to take a picnic along and if there aren’t any benches available then the grass area is also well maintained and perfect for a picnic blanket.


If you decide not to take a picnic then that’s fine, there are a couple of refreshment huts which serve, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, soft drinks, ice cream and fresh warm doughnuts! But if you would prefer something more substantial then the park is directly opposite the beach which has and is surrounded by several bars and restaurants.


But now going back to my reason for the monkey nuts, well animal lovers if you haven’t already been to this park prepare for your heart to melt! I am a HUGE animal lover and love all animals especially… SQUIRRELS! That’s right you need the monkey nuts to feed the squirrels, they literally come right up and take them from your hands they are so gentle however please remember they are wild animals and can change at any moment so when they are coming for food remember to stay still, they will hold your fingers first with their little paws and then they will grab the food from your hands.


*NOTE* Don’t be afraid or panic, but if you have false nails on the squirrels will try to chew on these first, you simply move your hand back gently and then they will go for the food, I can’t remember all squirrels doing this so I think it may have just been the one playing around with me luckily my nail varnish didn’t chip but it was cute.


If you sit on the benches by the squirrels they will come right next to you for food, they aren’t scared or shy, on my first visit I went with my mum and step son and we all absolutely loved every second of the day and on my second visit it was just myself and my fiancé and well I was like a child at Disney with all the animals. Oh, and beware of the pigeons again they are lovely and no harm at all, but they also want to be fed by hand so will sometimes get in the way of the squirrels, but one bag of money nuts will be more than enough to feed the birds too.


If you decide you’ve had enough of just feeding the animals there is also a large bird aviary at the top of the park and a mini golf course in the middle of the park.


This place is what I would call a hidden gem and an amazing day out for everyone.


This is one of my most favourite places to go so this day gets a straight up 10/10 from me.


I hope if you visit you enjoy it just as much and if you do get to visit please feel free to drop me a message about your day out.


Love

Your Everyday Girl

x

18 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page