top of page
  • Writer's pictureYour Everyday Girl

The 5 Stack Pancake Challenge at Josie’s UK Winchester

Just a two-minute walk from the Tower Street carpark stands this light modern and sweet coffee shop called Josie’s, the atmosphere as you walk in is very friendly and welcoming, as soon as I walked in, I was greeted with huge smiles and enthusiastic staff ready to help, they say first impressions count and this was a prime example.

The food and drinks are reasonably priced and although on our visit we went for the pancake challenge which was probably around 3,000 calories!! This coffee shop has a very healthy-looking menu without being too healthy and appears to cater for all ages as there is also a kid’s menu with simple non complicated foods to choose from.


I would definitely recommend this venue as a great location for business meetings, coffee with friends or just somewhere to relax alone, the other bonus is Josie’s give out their WIFI password for free which is located on the wall just around the corner from the counter.



So, remember when I said I was greeted by smiles when I walked into the building, well imagine the look on their faces when we said we wanted to take part in the Pancake Challenge! The girls again were very helpful and very chatty about the challenge which got us even more excited to take part.

I explained to the staff at Josie’s that I had an unfortunate eating issue but unfortunately to take part in this challenge they were not able to accommodate for my irrational fear of my food touching! Yes, that’s right I have a complete melt down when my food touches haha. I was however so excited to take part in this challenge, I had already paid, and the money was going to the Trinity Charity to help the homeless so, well there was no backing out now.


So, what started as confident excitement unfortunately soon became a nervous defeat!


Because of my irrational eating issue not only did I have to eat 5 HUGE pancakes to complete the challenge they also had to be covered in maple syrup and 10 rashes of bacon and not placed around the pancakes separately like I asked. This very quickly became a much bigger challenge for me, but I wasn’t ready to give up.


They bought the pancakes out and our faces dropped! I honestly don’t know what I was expecting but I don’t think I was expecting them to be this big!



As soon as the time started, we were off, my friend who I done the challenge with she went straight in, food everywhere I think I looked round at one point and she had sauce on her nose and forehead, I haven’t laughed so much in so long. We laughed and we choked so please be careful when taking on this challenge with your friends it can be dangerous haha!



Unfortunately my timing on this challenge was so poor but I was determined to win, I wasn’t prepared to give up, I had gotten so far with my fear of touching foods I wanted to complete it so badly but the intense amount of sugar was just too much, it took its toll on me and defeated me. I do believe that if the food wasn’t touching and I could have eaten the elements separately then I could have and would have done better but it just wasn’t to be.


Rather than feeling too defeated and deflated from the Challenge I felt good knowing I managed to make it through eating 3.5 pancakes (I swear it was 4) so I may not have won the pancake challenge, but I certainly won my own, so for me I would call that a win!


This challenge is raising money for the homeless and all money raised with be donated to Trinity Winchester so for anyone who hasn’t yet but would like to take on this challenge head down to Josie’s between now and Friday 8th March to take part. You will easily do better than me, but can you beat the current winner Tom Big Eats with a time of 7 minutes and 49 seconds?


Also before I sign off, I just wanted to say a big shout out to the staff at Josie’s they were amazing they kept on coming round with words of encouragement and spurring us on, it wouldn’t have been the same without them, this was my first ever eating challenge and although I was defeated it wont be my last.


I hope more people take on the challenge and if you do let me know how you get on I’d love to hear about your experience too!


Love Your Everyday Girl

xx




35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page