top of page
  • Writer's pictureYour Everyday Girl

Revolucion de Cuba

If you haven't already been or heard of Revolucion de Cuba, it’s a new Cuban restaurant/bar/club in Southampton on Above Bar Street.


This Restaurant/Bar focuses on Rum which is my all-time favourite drink, so I couldn't wait to try this place! The location is great for either afternoon drinks after/half way through a shopping trip or for pre-drinks before a night on the town.

The overall décor of the venue is really nice, it has a very authentic vibe and a beautifully stocked bar with loads of different Rum brands! The down stairs restaurant was spacious but still packed. The toilets however were located upstairs down the hall and not very well sign posted. I could imagine after a couple more rums this could have become awkward.


On my visit to Revolucion de Cuba I had the 2-4-1 Tapas at lunch time, so I ordered Nachos del Sol, Cheese Burger Tacos, Gambas Pil Pil Prawns, Charred Halloumi Cheese, Beef Fillet Skewer, Smokey Chicken Skewers, Albondigas Meat Balls and Fries. (This wasn’t all just for me by the way)


I was really excited about the food the menu looked great but before we ordered the above we did want to order other food but unfortunately most things we wanted to order were sold out which was quite devastating as it was all of the Chorizo dishes! another one of my favs! we decided to get the other dishes and stayed but to be honest I wish we hadn’t.



It could have been that the restaurant was new, and they were having to cope with high demand but surely when a restaurant is new this is the point they should be providing their best service?

All the plates we ordered were seriously lacking flavour and seasoning, the Cheese burger tacos were just outright disgusting and tasted like they had half a bottle of perfume poured on them and that is not the flavour I was hoping for!


The Beef fillet skewer we didn’t even order, we ordered a totally different plate but never received it but to be honest we didn’t realize until half way through the meal, I don’t know about you but when I see that much food, I just get too excited and have to dig in!


The overall service was good from the staff at the restaurant and the cocktails were great! it’s definitely a place to visit for a nice rum cocktail but not for the food unfortunately. I may visit again one day to possibly try other dishes but if they tell me they don’t have any chorizo again I probably wont bother with the food.


However, food is about preference so if you would prefer to find out for yourself, I would recommend going when its 2-4-1 this way it’s cheaper. Our meal came to a total of £50 which included four cocktails so it’s not too bad but honestly if I was paying full price, I think I would have had to ask for some kind of refund after those cheese burger tacos.


I’m sure this won’t be my last visit for the cocktails thought as I do love me a rum cocktail and the best bit, is they actually use proper cocktail glasses which I just think is amazing!


Anyway, that’s enough from my experience at Revolcuion de Cuba, Enjoy if you go and I hope they have all the foods you choose :)


Love

Your Everyday Girl

x



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page